Free Guide to Entering (and Winning) the Big Break Contest

Have you entered a screenwriting competition before? Not sure how it's done? Our free PDF Guide will answer all of your questions.


Eleven winners will share cash, prizes, and The New York Film Academy Writing Fellowship with a total value over $80,000. Plus, one TV winner and one Feature winner will be awarded Grand Prizes and will be flown to Los Angeles to be honored on-stage at the Final Draft Awards.

Grand Prize Winners' Experience

11 Feature & TV Awards

Enter your feature script or television script in one (or more!) of the following genres and formats:

Feature Genres

  • Action / Adventure
  • Comedy / Rom-Com
  • Drama
  • Family / Animated
  • Period / Historical / War
  • Sci-Fi / Fantasy
  • Thriller / Horror

TV Formats

  • Half-Hour Spec
  • Half-Hour Pilot
  • Hour-Long Spec
  • Hour-Long Pilot
Learn More


Enter your feature screenplay or TV script by July 15, 2016 for your chance to win up to $80,000 in cash and prizes, including the Final Draft/The New York Film Academy Fellowship in Writing for Film & Television

  • $40  
  • February 29, 2016
  • $50  
  • June 30, 2016
  • $65  
  • July 15, 2016


In recent years, over 50 Big Break semi-finalists, finalists, and winners have been signed to professional representation. Many have had scripts optioned, sold, and produced. Others have found full-time work in television.

Nicholas Anthony

2013 Television Comedy Pilot Winner

Nicholas Anthony is now working in the writers room of CBS' new show The Inspectors.

Rajiv Shah

2012 Top 35 Finalist

Rajiv Shah's screenplay Run The Tide has recently wrapped filming with Taylor Lautner (Twilight) starring.

Mike Scannell

2013 Action/Adventure Winner

Mike Scannell recently sold his spec Scarecrow to Screen Gems.

Kenny Kyle

2013 TV Grand-Prize Winner

Kenny Kyle signed with Madhouse and CAA and joined the writers room of Hawaii Five–0.